Something I came away with from my 3rd PRAC was the pedagogical framework “I Do, We Do, You Do”. The school required their teachers to use this framework in a range of teaching areas, in particular mathematics.

The purpose of this framework is to slowly reduce the reliance students have on the teachers when learning a new concept/topic. The I Do phase is teacher-centred, where students are listening to the teacher. However, the teacher is NOT simply saying copy what I do. The teacher must verbalise the process, their own thinking, predict questions that they students may ask, etc…

The next stage is the ‘We Do’ stage which moves to whole-class discovery. The teacher is still involved, modelling the process, prompting and cueing student learning, but students are now actively engaged in the task/activity.

At the final stage, ‘You Do’, the students are relying on themselves to complete the activity or task. This final stage is not limited to individual work, my mentor suggested that it could also include collaboration in pairs or small groups of other students. In relation to this, Ellen Levy added in an extra step to this framework, ‘You Do It Together’, which focuses on collaborative learning (Levy, 2007).

This YouTube clip, created by students, demonstrates a really valuable example of how this framework should and could be incorporated into to the classroom not just by teachers, but by students as well.

*NOTE: Although I find this framework very valuable in the classroom, I must emphasise that this does not form my whole pedagogy and should not for anyone. I have found that “I Do, We Do, You Do” is very useful when teaching mathematics and when demonstrating correct behaviour in the classroom, but for KLAs such as History I much prefer to use an inquiry approach to teaching and learning.

BooksForLifeUSA. (2013, October 7). Teaching Strategy: I Do, We Do, You Do [Video File]. Video posted to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E08qf20yGv8

Levy, E. (2007). Gradual Release of Responsibility: I do, We do, You do. Retrieved from http://www.sjboces.org/doc/Gifted/GradualReleaseResponsibilityJan08.pdf

