While I was searching for resources for my Assignment artifact, I came across this interesting video which had been posted on YouTube. The video is from The tonight Show on TV, with Jimmy Fallon. In this video Idina Menzel and ‘The Roots’ perform “Let It Go” from the Disney movie “Frozen”. The funny thing is for the backing music they have used instruments which are found in a typical primary school classroom or music room. Robin Thicke also came on the show and with ‘The Roots’ performed “Blurred Lines”, but understanding the background of this song, I don’t think it is very appropriate. You can find that video here. But please DO NOT use it in the class! The students will probably think you are the greatest teacher ever, but I’m sure parents will have a different opinion.

Besides this, how engaging and wonderful would it be to do this with students in music. The kids would love it because you can do it with recent, popular songs. Also by using the same instruments they have in the video clip, it would be simple for the kids and they could take turns at playing the different instruments. To me its way better than the old fashioned way of ‘read the boring note patterns’ and ‘copy what I do’ approaches.

I do believe that it would be difficult and hard work to take a song and figure out what instruments to involve and what rhythms they should have. But you could get the kids to help in this process and it would really pay off in the end.

I am feeling very inspired right now. I think I want to be a music teacher!! 🙂

The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. (2014, March 3). Jimmy Fallon, Idina Menzel & The Roots Sing “Let It Go” from “Frozen” (w/Classroom Instruments) [Video File]. Video posted to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17QQcK4l6Yw

