While looking for some technological inspiration this week, I came across ‘The Eye Tribe Tracker’. This ICT comes in the form of a front-facing camera which can currently be connected to your computer and Android devices (i.e. smartphones, tablets and cars). The eye tracking feature of this ICT has been designed to be easy to set up and fully automatic, so it works in a range of environments as accurately as possible. It can currently be used for active applications, including games (i.e. Fruit Ninja), login alternatives and hands-free typing. It is also being used for design, layout, advertising, medical diagnostics and academic research purposes.

At $99 (American I assume) it is relatively affordable, but I don’t think I will buy one just yet. I might just wait another 5 years until there have been some more improvements and added capabilities. Surely it can’t be that accurate yet. Despite this, I’m really looking forward to the future technologies that will be available, including this one. If they ever come across this blog post, I would be more than happy to be one of their test subjects J

The Eye Tribe. (2013, September 5). The Eye Tribe Tracker – The World’s First Affordable Eye Tracker [Video File]. Video posted to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2q9DarPET0o

 

The Eye Tribe Tracker – The world’s first affordable eye tracker

