Since I am currently doing EDX2190 the History and Geography course, I decided I would pick the History Key Learnign Area (KLA) in the Australian Curriculum, so I can have more practice in developing a unit plan in this area. Looking through the content descriptors for Year 3, I decided to go with:

Historical Knowledge and Understanding:

  • Days and weeks celebrated or commemorated in Australia (including Australia Day, ANZAC Day, Harmony Week, National Reconciliation Week, NAIDOC week and National Sorry Day) and the importance of symbols and emblems. (ACHHK063)
  • Celebrations and commemorations in other places around the world; for example, Bastille Day in France, Independence Day in the USA, including those that are observed in Australia such as Chinese New Year, Christmas Day, Diwali, Easter, Hanukkah, the Moon Festival and Ramadan (ACHHK064)

Historical Skills:

  • Chronology, terms and concepts –  Use historical terms (ACHHS066)
  • Explanation and communication – Develop texts, particularly narratives (ACHHS070)

I really connected with the historical knowledge and understanding content descriptors and thought it would be a great way to use a large range of ICTs effectively. The only concern I have is that I might drift away from my intended learning outcomes, but hopefully by using the backwards design process this will not happen.

As instructed I then went to the QSA website and found the assessment criterion for Year 3, which matches my chosen content descriptions:

Historical Knowledge and Understanding:

  • Considered explanations of events and aspects of the past that have significance in the present.

Communicating:

  • Clear and purposeful communication, including narrative texts, and explicit use of historical terms.

I can confidently say now that I am now well on my way to completing this assignment.

While having a look through the forum where everyone is posting their chosen curriculum for assignment 2, I came across Jacalyn’s post, “The Beginning of Assignment 2“. Since we are both going to use the History curriculum in lower primary contexts, I will definitely be closely following her posts as we might be able to help each other out in the future, if required.