As part of EDX3270 Assignment 1 I had to create a multimodal presentation using a new ICT. I must say I was really tempted to just use Movie Maker and claim that I hadn’t used it before, but I decided to challenge myself. The first task was to actually find a new ICT which created videos that could be uploaded to YouTube and which also included all multimodal elements (i.e. audio, visual, linguistic, spatial and gestural).

This ended up not being so tough, I ended up coming across ‘PowToon’ which allows you to create free animated videos and presentations. Considering it was only created in 2012, the videos you create can be shared in over 300 different ways and the graphics that are available to you for free are just unbelievable. Considering my previous experiences with new ICTs it was surprising how simple it was to use this online presentation software, it took me less than an hour to learn how to use it and it only took me 4-5 hours to completely finish my multimodal presentation, which included uploading it to YouTube. One feature that I really loved was that I didn’t have to wait around for it to be uploaded to my YouTube account. PowToon took care of that and sent me an email when it had been uploaded.

I’m still shocked at how easy it was to use this ICT, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who struggles with using PowerPoint or Movie Maker, it is a wonderful alternative and the different things you could use it for are just never ending. If you are interested in what you can do with PowToon, below is the video I created:

It can also be accessed from here.

Salvesani, S. (2014, April 2). EDX3270 Assignment 1 – Multimodal Presentation [Video File]. Video posted to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLWBcpIqt84

