Until today I had never heard about the Horizon Report before. As a part of the NMC Horizon Project, in June each year a report which identifies the technologies likely to have a significant impact on global education over the next five years are identified. Looking back at the 2012 Horizon Report the following predictions were made:

12 months (by 2013):

  • Mobile devices and apps
  • Tablet computing

2-3 years (by 2014-2015):

  • Game-based learning
  • Personal learning environments

4-5 years (by 2016-2017):

  • Augmented reality
  • Natural user interfaces

As predicted so far I have only seen the use of mobile devices and apps in schools. Furthermore, I have also heard of Game Based Learning (GBL), but have not seen it in action. If you’re not sure what GBL is have a look at this website which offers a simple description. With a little bit of searching I was able to find this article which talks about a teachers experiences with using the multiplayer online role-play game World of Warcraft, in the classroom. Seems like the students are having a blast with this, but I’m wondering how the teacher is actually coping with having to design and set up the “quests” and accounts for students.

I find it interesting that the predictions made for 2-5 years, have not been included in this year’s preview Horizon Report. I guess it goes to show just how quickly new ICTs are being developed. The following predictions have been made this year:

12 months (by 2013):

  • Bring Your Own Device (BYOD)
  • Cloud Computing

2-3 years (by 2014-2015):

  • Games and gamification
  • Learning analytics

4-5 years (by 2016-2017):

  • The internet of things
  • Wearable technology

After looking at this report, I feel that I need to get with the times. The only ones I have heard about are BYOD and Wearable technology such as Google Glass. Already I have heard of BYOD being implemented in some schools, including the school Alysha was on prac at. It will be interesting to see what next year’s report will include and how many of these technologies will be integrated into schools.

